The Legal Action Center has received the following awards:

Paul N. Samuels
John P. McGovern, M.D. Award

American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM), 2014

Top Nonprofit
Philanthropedia at GuideStar, 2011 (read the full story here)

Paul N. Samuels
Robert Wood Johnson Innovator Award, 2002

The Betty Ford Award
AMERSA, 1998

New York City Coalition of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Organizations, 1997

Special Reception Award
Veritas Villa, 1995

Mental Health Award
Westchester County Department of Community Mental Health, 1994

New York State Association for Alternative Sentencing Programs, 1994

National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors, 1992 and 1994 

Catherine H. O’Neill
Legal Services Award

The Association of the Bar of the City of New York, 1992

Special Recognition Award
National Association of Addiction Treatment Providers, 1992

First Annual Friend of Field Award
American Association for the Treatment of Opioid Dependency, 1988

Special Recognition Award
Samaritan Village, 1988

Special Commendation
New York State Council on Alcoholism, 1988 and 1983

Certificate of Recognition
New York State Division of Substance Abuse Services, 1987

Fortune Society’s Karl Menninger Award, 1986

Special Commendation
Phase Piggy Back, 1985

Pacesetter Award 
National Institute on Drug Abuse, 1977

Share this