Arthur Liman Public Interest Awards

The Arthur Liman Public Interest Awards were established in 1998 to honor the memory of Arthur L. Liman, LAC’s co-founder and Board Chair of 25 years. The awards acknowledge superior achievements in addressing issues at the core of LAC’s mission—alcohol/drug addiction, HIV/AIDS, and criminal justice. For more information, please contact LAC's Director of Development, Robert B. Levy at (212) 243-1313 or

2014 Benefit Honorees:
Edward J. Davis - Partner, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Russelle Miller-Hill - Criminal Justice and Health Advocate
John J. Suydam - Chief Legal Officer, Apollo Global Management, LLC

Click here to learn more about our honorees and purchase tickets for this year's event.

Past Benefits and Honorees

Doug Liman - President, Hypnotic
Jane Sherburne - Senior Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, BNY Mellon

Elizabeth M. Sacksteder - Deputy General Counsel and Global Head of Litigation and Regulatory Investigations, Citigroup
Suzanne and Jim Cusack - Founders, Villa Veritas Foundation

Eric F. Grossman (Managing Director, Global Head of Legal; Morgan Stanley)
All of Us or None

Amy W. Schulman (Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Pfizer Inc)
Young Women of Color HIV/AIDS Coalition

Daniel K. Mayer (Chairman of the Board, LAC; Retired Senior Partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale & Dorr LLP)
Esta E. Stecher (Executive Vice President and General Counsel, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.)

Michael K. Deaver* - (Former Deputy Chief of Staff to President Reagan; Vice Chairman of Edelman International; LAC Board Member)
Marcy Engel (Chief Operating Officer and General Counsel, Eton Park Capital management, L.P.)

Brad S. Karp (Partner and Co-chair of Litigation Department; Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton and Garrison, LLP)
Rory Kennedy (Award-winning Documentary Filmmaker)